All stories by Calvin Wilson St. Louis Post-Dispatch on BroadwayStars

Friday, December 13, 2019

Recently reviewed theater for Dec. 13 by Calvin Wilson St. Louis Post-Dispatch

Capsule reviews for professional theater on St. Louis stages.

Linked From St. Louis Today at 05:12PM
Thursday, December 12, 2019

West End Players' 'Cricket on the Hearth' has a warm glow by Calvin Wilson St. Louis Post-Dispatch

The play is similar to “A Christmas Carol” in its unapologetic sentimentality and burns with much the same life-affirming glow.

Linked From St. Louis Today at 02:06PM
Wednesday, December 11, 2019

New Jewish Theatre's 'Fully Committed' goes all in on comedy by Calvin Wilson St. Louis Post-Dispatch

Dozens of characters turn up in playwright Becky Mode’s “Fully Committed.” But there’s only one person onstage.

Linked From St. Louis Today at 10:42AM
Tuesday, December 10, 2019

'A Life in the Theater' is a spellbinding tribute to acting by Calvin Wilson St. Louis Post-Dispatch

St. Louis Actors' Studio presents an early two-character play by David Mamet.

Linked From St. Louis Today at 08:24AM
Saturday, December 7, 2019

Repertory Theatre of St. Louis presents brilliant adaptation of ‘Pride and Prejudice’ by Calvin Wilson St. Louis Post-Dispatch

Smart, engaging performances bring Jane Austen’s characters to life.

Linked From St. Louis Today at 10:06PM
Friday, December 6, 2019

Stray Dog Theatre's 'Disenchanted!' is fairy-tale fun by Calvin Wilson St. Louis Post-Dispatch

Stray Dog Theatre presents freewheeling musical.

Linked From St. Louis Today at 09:18PM
Saturday, November 23, 2019

Recently reviewed theater for Nov. 22 by Calvin Wilson St. Louis Post-Dispatch

Capsule reviews for professional theater on St. Louis stages.

Linked From St. Louis Today at 04:12AM
Wednesday, November 20, 2019

Lotteries to be held for 'Wicked' tickets by Calvin Wilson St. Louis Post-Dispatch

Show returns to the Fox next month.

Linked From St. Louis Today at 06:12PM
Saturday, November 16, 2019

As new head of Shakespeare Festival St. Louis, Tom Ridgely is shaking things up by Calvin Wilson St. Louis Post-Dispatch

New producing artistic director wants to provide a path into theater and give a voice to underrepresented communities

Linked From St. Louis Today at 09:03AM
Friday, November 15, 2019
Monday, November 11, 2019

The Rep extends its run of 'Feeding Beatrice' by Calvin Wilson St. Louis Post-Dispatch

The Rep extends run of supernatural comedy-drama.

Linked From St. Louis Today at 06:42PM
Saturday, November 9, 2019

SATE's well-acted 'Women of Lockerbie' channels Greek tragedy by Calvin Wilson St. Louis Post-Dispatch

SATE presents drama about grief in aftermath of terrorism.

Linked From St. Louis Today at 05:06PM
Friday, November 8, 2019
Wednesday, November 6, 2019
Tuesday, November 5, 2019

St. Louis Shakespeare's 'Merchant of Venice' resonates with relevance by Calvin Wilson St. Louis Post-Dispatch

The moneylender with a dark agenda gets an intriguing spin in the engaging that runs through Saturday.

Linked From St. Louis Today at 11:24AM
Saturday, November 2, 2019

'Feeding Beatrice' is fascinatingly offbeat by Calvin Wilson St. Louis Post-Dispatch

The Rep presents enigmatic ghost story.

Linked From St. Louis Today at 10:54PM
Saturday, October 26, 2019
Friday, October 25, 2019

Contemporary, cinematic 'Dear Evan Hansen' aims for the heart by Calvin Wilson St. Louis Post-Dispatch

Acclaimed musical explores need for human connection.

Linked From St. Louis Today at 08:06AM
Monday, October 21, 2019

'The Who's Tommy' rocks the Stray Dog stage by Calvin Wilson St. Louis Post-Dispatch

Stray Dog Theatre presents viscerally engaging musical.

Linked From St. Louis Today at 10:54PM
Saturday, October 19, 2019

‘The Lifespan of a Fact’ at the Rep is smart and timely by Calvin Wilson St. Louis Post-Dispatch

Repertory Theatre of St. Louis presents comedy-drama about playing loose with the truth.

Linked From St. Louis Today at 09:24PM
Friday, October 18, 2019
Thursday, October 3, 2019
Wednesday, October 2, 2019

West End Players' 'Equivocation' has fun with Shakespeare by Calvin Wilson St. Louis Post-Dispatch

West End Players Guild stages play featuring the bard.

Linked From St. Louis Today at 04:54AM
Tuesday, October 1, 2019

'The Agitators' at Upstream Theater is a fine acting showcase by Calvin Wilson St. Louis Post-Dispatch

Upstream Theater presents play about activists Frederick Douglass and Susan B. Anthony.

Linked From St. Louis Today at 01:54AM
Sunday, September 29, 2019

'Cry-Baby' is lighthearted fun by Calvin Wilson St. Louis Post-Dispatch

New Line revives musical based on 1990 film.

Linked From St. Louis Today at 12:33PM
Saturday, September 28, 2019
Tuesday, September 24, 2019

'Fifty Words' at St. Louis Actors' Studio takes aim at a marriage by Calvin Wilson St. Louis Post-Dispatch

St. Louis Actors' Studio presents funny, provocative play.

Linked From St. Louis Today at 12:03AM
Tuesday, September 17, 2019

Midnight Co.'s 'A Model for Matisse' is a charming portrait by Calvin Wilson St. Louis Post-Dispatch

Midnight Company presents play based on a documentary.

Linked From St. Louis Today at 04:48PM
Saturday, September 14, 2019
Friday, September 13, 2019

Stages St. Louis hits the bull's-eye with 'Man of La Mancha' by Calvin Wilson St. Louis Post-Dispatch

Stages St. Louis presents musical focusing on Don Quixote.

Linked From St. Louis Today at 04:33PM
Tuesday, September 10, 2019

Must-see 'Don't Bother Me, I Can't Cope' at Black Rep still resonates by Calvin Wilson St. Louis Post-Dispatch

Some shows transcend their time to succeed in becoming timeless, even as history continues its inexorable march. And that renders such shows well worth revival.

Linked From St. Louis Today at 11:12AM

All that Chat

2019-2020 BROADWAY SEASON
Oct 06: Slave Play
Feb 01: The Minutes
TBA: Blue