All stories by Calvin Wilson | Post-Dispatch Theater Critic on BroadwayStars

Friday, October 18, 2019

Q&A: In 'The Lifespan of a Fact,' a writer and editor clash by Calvin Wilson | Post-Dispatch Theater Critic

Should the truth be allowed to get in the way of telling a good story?

Linked From St. Louis Today at 11:03PM
Thursday, September 26, 2019
Tuesday, August 6, 2019

Q&A: Theater collaboration gives 'Antigone' a timely update by Calvin Wilson | Post-Dispatch Theater Critic

SATE and ERA collaborate on new version of Greek classic.

Linked From St. Louis Today at 07:06PM
Friday, August 2, 2019

Q&A: Young Mattea Conforti puts her mind to 'Matilda' by Calvin Wilson | Post-Dispatch Theater Critic

The Muny presents musical about girl with psychokinetic abilities.

Linked From St. Louis Today at 01:33PM
Thursday, July 25, 2019
Wednesday, July 3, 2019
Tuesday, June 25, 2019

'Indecent,' a timely tale of long ago, strikes a chord with audiences by Calvin Wilson | Post-Dispatch Theater Critic

Playwright Paula Vogel was inspired by a controversial theater production.

Linked From St. Louis Today at 01:03AM
Friday, June 7, 2019
Thursday, May 30, 2019
Wednesday, May 22, 2019
Thursday, May 9, 2019

Black Rep's 'Nina Simone' focuses on singer and her songs by Calvin Wilson | Post-Dispatch Theater Critic

Black Rep production offers insight into legendary performer and activist.

Linked From St. Louis Today at 05:36PM
Wednesday, April 3, 2019

Q&A: Ernie Hudson, at Wizard World this weekend, just likes to work by Calvin Wilson | Post-Dispatch Theater Critic

Original "Ghostbuster" to appear at Wizard World comic-con.

Linked From St. Louis Today at 12:30PM
Wednesday, March 27, 2019

MADCO's 'Unity Movement' explores cultural connections by Calvin Wilson | Post-Dispatch Theater Critic

Program is themed to city's diverse neighborhoods.

Linked From St. Louis Today at 11:16AM
Thursday, March 14, 2019

Spring arts guide: From classics to new shows, lots of variety in theater and dance by Calvin Wilson | Post-Dispatch Theater Critic

Classic dramas by Sam Shepard and Tennessee Williams, the musical that gave us “My Favorite Things,” a ballet about the love life of a lifelike doll and a play that’s upfront about goi…

Linked From St. Louis Today at 03:30PM
Thursday, February 28, 2019

Q&A: 'Ballet Beyond Borders' explores a universal language by Calvin Wilson | Post-Dispatch Theater Critic

It's the latest program in the St. Louis Ballet 'Go!' series.

Linked From St. Louis Today at 01:22PM
Tuesday, January 29, 2019

Q&A: 'Fiddler on the Roof' director has a knack for revivals by Calvin Wilson | Post-Dispatch Theater Critic

Bartlett Sher also worked on 'My Fair Lady.' 'South Pacific.'

Linked From St. Louis Today at 07:32PM
Thursday, January 24, 2019

Q&A: 'Avenue Q' is a long way from 'Sesame Street' by Calvin Wilson | Post-Dispatch Theater Critic

Choreographer talks about satirical musical coming to Playhouse at Westport Plaza.

Linked From St. Louis Today at 09:18PM
Friday, January 11, 2019

Q&A: Black Rep's 'Canfield Drive' gives voice to Ferguson conflict by Calvin Wilson | Post-Dispatch Theater Critic

Black Rep presents world premiere of play based partly on interviews.

Linked From St. Louis Today at 12:18AM
Saturday, December 29, 2018
Thursday, December 20, 2018
Thursday, December 13, 2018

Q&A: 'The Nutcracker' is an introduction to ballet for many by Calvin Wilson | Post-Dispatch Theater Critic

St. Louis Ballet performs holiday favorite at the Touhill.

Linked From St. Louis Today at 12:24AM
Thursday, November 15, 2018
Friday, November 2, 2018

Q&A: 'The Gospel at Colonus' puts unique spin on Oedipus by Calvin Wilson | Post-Dispatch Theater Critic

Black Rep presents concert version of acclaimed musical.

Linked From St. Louis Today at 12:42PM
Friday, October 19, 2018

All that Chat

2019-2020 BROADWAY SEASON
Oct 06: Slave Play
Feb 01: The Minutes
TBA: Blue